Don Bosco and the Salesians

John Bosco is not present only in the name, but also in several other aspects. This Italian priest and founder of the Salesian order experienced his own school and study time very intensively. Coming from a poor peasant family, he worked as a stable boy, blacksmith, carpenter, tailor and waiter to finance his education. At the same time, with great talent, he also taught himself magic tricks, tightrope walking and acrobatics in order to entertain his peers and then tell them about God.

 

These experiences and skills shaped Bosco's life. As a young priest, his desire matured to devote himself entirely to the young who were at that time seeking work and a better life in the factory town of Turin. Many of them remained homeless and unemployed, experienced exploitation or ended up on the street or in prison. Don Bosco, as he was soon known, wanted to put an end to this misery. In order to do that, he launched a holistic program where young people spent their free time in a healthy environment, experienced community, learned about the faith, and at the same time received education that equipped them for their future.

The driving force behind Don Bosco's tireless efforts was his conviction that there is good in every human being. His courageous approach of trusting young people, encouraging their talents and renouncing harsh punishments was revolutionary and set new standards. His project spread rapidly: many of the young Don Bosco mentored later wanted to become involved in helping others themselves. With them, the priest founded the "Society of St. Francis de Sales" in 1859, which was named "Salesians of Don Bosco" after his death. In 1934, the Catholic Church elevated John Bosco to the status of the saint and patron of youth.

 

Today, Don Bosco's community has grown to 14,600 members in 133 countries. All of them are united by their commitment to "to support young people on their path to successful life." In Austria, the Salesians run schools, dormitories, youth centers, volunteer programs, projects for young refugees, parishes and also the Don Bosco dormitory, where Don Bosco's work began in 1910. Currently, 13 Salesians live in the house, including six priests, one religious brother and six students in training. As members of the order, they are committed to a lifestyle of obedience, poverty and celibacy. Their presence and support is greatly appreciated by all residents of the home.

The driving force behind Don Bosco's tireless efforts was his conviction that there is good in every human being. His courageous approach of trusting young people, encouraging their talents and renouncing harsh punishments was revolutionary and set new standards. His project spread rapidly: many of the young Don Bosco mentored later wanted to become involved in helping others themselves. With them, the priest founded the "Society of St. Francis de Sales" in 1859, which was named "Salesians of Don Bosco" after his death. In 1934, the Catholic Church elevated John Bosco to the status of the saint and patron of youth.

 

Today, Don Bosco's community has grown to 14,600 members in 133 countries. All of them are united by their commitment to "to support young people on their path to successful life." In Austria, the Salesians run schools, dormitories, youth centers, volunteer programs, projects for young refugees, parishes and also the Don Bosco dormitory, where Don Bosco's work began in 1910. Currently, 13 Salesians live in the house, including six priests, one religious brother and six students in training. As members of the order, they are committed to a lifestyle of obedience, poverty and celibacy. Their presence and support is greatly appreciated by all residents of the home.

SDB

More about the Salesians...

With about 14,600 members in 133 countries, the Salesians of Don Bosco (SDB) are one of the largest male orders in the Catholic Church. The order is committed to supporting young people. Salesians of Don Bosco are there for them on their way: as supporters, advisors and friends. In the community there are brothers, priests and deacons. The presence of the Salesians of Don Bosco is noticeable through a family atmosphere, the atmosphere of joy and optimism, a sensitivity for global contexts and friendship with Jesus Christ, which shows itself in everyday life and encourages service and commitment to fellow human beings, especially to disadvantaged young people.

en_US

Don Bosco und die Salesianer

Nicht nur der Name, sondern auch mehrere Darstellungen in unserem Haus erinnern an Johannes Bosco. Der italienische Priester und Gründer des Salesianerordens erlebte seine eigene Schul- und Studienzeit sehr intensiv. Aus einer armen Bauersfamilie stammend, war er zur Finanzierung seiner Ausbildung nebenbei in verschiedensten Handwerksberufen tätig, nämlich als Stallbursche, Schmied, Tischler, Schneider und Kellner. Zugleich brachte er sich mit viel Talent auch Zauberkunststücke, das Seiltanzen und Akrobatik bei, um seine Alterskollegen zu unterhalten und ihnen anschließend von Gott zu erzählen.

 

Diese Erfahrungen und Fertigkeiten prägten Boscos weiteres Leben. Als junger Priester reifte in ihm der Wunsch, sich ganz den Jugendlichen zu widmen, die damals massenweise in der Fabriksstadt Turin Arbeit und ein besseres Leben suchten. Viele von ihnen blieben heimat- und arbeitslos, erlebten Ausbeutung oder landeten auf der Straße sowie im Gefängnis. Don Bosco, wie er bald nur noch genannt wurde, wollte dieses Elend beenden. Er startete dazu ein attraktives Programm, bei dem die Jugendlichen in gesunder Umgebung ihre Freizeit verbrachten, Gemeinschaft erfuhren, den Glauben kennenlernten und zugleich eine Ausbildung erhielten, die ihnen Perspektive gab.

Triebfeder für den unermüdlichen Einsatz Don Boscos war seine Überzeugung, dass in jedem Menschen ein guter Kern steckt. Sein mutiger Zugang von Vertrauen in die Jugendlichen, Förderung ihrer Begabungen und Verzicht auf Strafen war revolutionär und setzte neue Maßstäbe. Sein Modell breitete sich rasch aus: Viele der Jugendlichen, die Don Bosco betreute, wollten sich später selbst für andere engagieren. Mit ihnen gründete der Priester 1859 die „Gesellschaft des heiligen Franz von Sales“, die nach seinem Tod „Salesianer Don Boscos“ genannt wurde. 1934 erhob die katholische Kirche Johannes Bosco zum Heiligen und zum Patron der Jugend.

 

Don Boscos Gemeinschaft ist heute auf 14.600 Mitglieder in 133 Ländern angewachsen. Alle eint der Einsatz dafür, „dass das Leben junger Menschen gelingt“. In Österreich führen die Salesianer Schulen, Schülerheime, Jugendzentren, Volontärsprogramme, Projekte für junge Flüchtlinge, Pfarren und auch das Studentenheim Don Bosco, mit dem Don Boscos Werk hierzulande 1903 begann. Derzeit leben in einem getrennten Stockwerk 13 Salesianer, darunter sechs Priester, ein Ordensbruder und sechs Studenten in Ausbildung. Als Ordensmänner sind sie zu einem Lebensstil von Gehorsam, Armut und Ehelosigkeit verpflichtet. Ihre Anwesenheit und Mitwirken wird von den übrigen Heimbewohnern sehr geschätzt.

Triebfeder für den unermüdlichen Einsatz Don Boscos war seine Überzeugung, dass in jedem Menschen ein guter Kern steckt. Sein mutiger Zugang von Vertrauen in die Jugendlichen, Förderung ihrer Begabungen und Verzicht auf harte Strafen war revolutionär und setzte neue Maßstäbe. Sein Modell breitete sich rasch aus: Viele der Jugendlichen, die Don Bosco betreute, wollten sich später selbst für andere engagieren. Mit ihnen gründete der Priester 1859 die „Gesellschaft des heiligen Franz von Sales“, die nach seinem Tod „Salesianer Don Boscos“ genannt wurde. 1934 erhob die katholische Kirche Johannes Bosco zum Heiligen und zum Patron der Jugend.

 

Don Boscos Gemeinschaft ist heute auf 14.600 Mitglieder in 133 Ländern angewachsen. Alle eint der Einsatz dafür, „dass das Leben junger Menschen gelingt“. In Österreich führen die Salesianer Schulen, Schülerheime, Jugendzentren, Volontärsprogramme, Projekte für junge Flüchtlinge, Pfarren und auch das Studentenheim Salesianum, mit dem Don Boscos Werk hierzulande 1903 begann. Derzeit leben in einem getrennten Stockwerk 13 Salesianer, darunter sechs Priester, ein Ordensbruder und sechs Studenten in Ausbildung. Als Ordensmänner sind sie zu einem Lebensstil von Gehorsam, Armut und Ehelosigkeit verpflichtet. Ihre Anwesenheit und Mitwirken wird von den übrigen Heimbewohnern sehr geschätzt.

SDB

Mehr über die Salesianer...

Die Salesianer Don Boscos (SDB) zählen mit etwa 14.600 Mitgliedern in 133 Ländern zu den größten Männerorden der katholischen Kirche. Der Orden setzt sich für junge Menschen ein. Salesianer Don Boscos sind für und mit der Jugend unterwegs. Sie sind für sie da als Helfer, Berater und Freunde. In der Gemeinschaft gibt es Brüder, Priester und Diakone. Die Präsenz der Salesianer Don Boscos ist spürbar durch eine familiäre Atmosphäre, Freude und Optimismus, eine Sensibilität für globale Zusammenhänge und die Freundschaft mit Jesus Christus, die sich im Alltag zeigt und animiert zu Dienst und Einsatz für die Mitmenschen, vor allem für benachteiligte junge Menschen.

de_AT